Laboratory of Dendrochronology

Since 1970, wood samples from archeological excavations and architectural historic investigations from Rhineland-Palatinate and beyond are analyzed at the Laboratory of Dendrochronology (Rheinisches Landesmuseum Trier) regarding their tree ring characteristics. In addition to these application-oriented dating a further focus of the scientific work is on the basic research in dendrochronology, particularly regarding the creation of supraregional long-term chronologies (e.g. Central European oak chronology by Hollstein).  

 

On the following pages you will find corresponding information on the field of activity, current research projects and events.  

 

Wood sample from Bad Bertrich with mark every five years 

 

News

Current Projects: 

- Compilation of a 6000–years long Central European oak chronology for hydroclimatic reconstructions, project management: Dr. Willy Tegel (Laboratory for Dendrology, Chair of Forest Yield and Dendroecology, University of Freiburg, http://www.dendro.de/ )  

 

- Revision of available dendrochronological investigations as part of the interdisciplinary research project regarding architectural and art history of the Cathedral of Trier in cooperation with the University of Trier (Prof. Dr. Gottfried Kerscher) and the Technical University of Munich (Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Schuller) 

 

Messtischanlage

Measuring table 

Publications

Staff

Andreas Rzepecki

Head of Laboratory

Rheinisches Landesmuseum Trier / Laboratory of Dendrochronology

Weimarer Allee 1 • 54290 Trier

Germany

Phone +49 (0)651/9774-127

Fax +49 (0)651/9774-222

andreas.rzepecki[at]gdke.rlp.de

Dendrochronologisches Forschungslabor

Seit 1970 werden am Dendrochronologischen Forschungslabor des Rheinischen Landesmuseums Trier im Rahmen archäologischer Grabungen und bauhistorischer Untersuchungen in Rheinland-Pfalz und darüber hinaus anfallende Holzfunde von öffentlichen und privaten Auftraggebern auf ihre Jahrringmuster untersucht und dendrochronologisch datiert. Neben dieser anwendungsorientierten Datierung liegt dabei bis heute ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit auf der Grundlagenforschung, insbesondere bezüglich der Erstellung überregional gültiger Langzeitchronologien als Analysebasis (z. B. Mitteleuropäische Eichenchronologie nach Hollstein).  

 

Auf den folgenden Seiten finden Sie entsprechend Informationen zum Tätigkeitsfeld, laufenden Forschungsprojekten und aktuellen Veranstaltungen. 

 

Holzprobe aus Bad Bertrich mit Markierung im Abstand von fünf Jahren 

 

Aktuelles

Laufende Forschungsprojekte: 

- Erstellung einer 6000-jährigen Mitteleuropäischen Eichenchronologie für hydroklimatische Rekonstruktionen, Projektleitung Dr. Willy Tegel (Dendrochronologisches Labor, Lehrstuhl für Waldwachstum und Dendroökologie, Universität Freiburg, http://www.dendro.de/)  

 

- Beteiligung am interdisziplinären Forschungsprojekt zur Bau- und Kunstgeschichte des Trierer Doms der Universität Trier (Prof. Dr. Gottfried Kerscher) und der TU München (Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Schuller) bezüglich Revision vorliegender dendrochronologischer Untersuchungen 

 

Messtischanlage

Messtischanlage 

Veröffentlichungen

Mitarbeiter

Mechthild Neyses-Eiden 

Laborleitung 

Rheinisches Landesmuseum Trier / Dendrochronologisches Forschungslabor 

Weimarer Allee 1 • 54290 Trier 

Telefon +49 (0)651/9774-115 

Fax +49 (0)651/9774-222 

mechthild.neyses-eiden[at]gdke.rlp.de  

 

Andreas Rzepecki 

Dendrochronologischer Assistent 

Rheinisches Landesmuseum Trier / Dendrochronologisches Forschungslabor 

Weimarer Allee 1 • 54290 Trier 

Telefon +49 (0)651/9774-127 

Fax +49 (0)651/9774-222 

andreas.rzepecki[at]gdke.rlp.de