Ein Traum von Rom  

15.03. - 28.09.2014

The Dream of Rome - Roman Urban Life in Southwest Germany

With the expansion of the Roman Empire, the Roman-Mediterranean life style reached even into the remote provinces. Rome always remained the model for all the newly founded towns and stood for a high standard of living, a flourishing economy, private luxury and urban splendor. 

 

For the first time, an exhibition is devoted to Roman urban culture in northeast Gaul and in Upper Germania east of the Rhine. All Roman towns, large or small, were united by Rome as their model – in their economy and administration, in private life, and in public construction plans. The exhibition presents first and foremost the major Roman city of Trier which will be compared to other towns. But “The Dream of Rom” also affords insights into private urban houses with their murals, sculptures, and mosaics. An impressive, innovative one-of-a kind 240° film animation will show the Roman cityscape in present-day southwest Germany and the development of ancient Trier. 

 

The visit to the special exhibition, along with a free audio-guide is included in the museum admission price. Additional reductions, family tickets, and combination packages such as Trier Antiquity Card will be available.  

 

Rome as the ideal for urban construction and organization north of the Alps is also evident outside of the museum. The conspicuous roman monuments throughout the city, like the Porta Nigra and the Imperial Baths preserve the antique heritage of urban architecture even today. They complement a visit to the special exhibition by providing an authentic experience of Roman building culture.  

 

The special exhibition is under the patronage of Malu Dreyer, the Minister President of Rhineland-Palatinate and Winfried Kretschmann, Minister President of Baden-Wuerttemberg. 

 

 

 

 

The special exhibition is a presentation by Generaldirektion Kulturelles Erbe Rheinland-Pfalz, Direktion Rheinisches Landesmuseum Trier, and the Landesmuseum Württemberg, Stuttgart. It will also be shown in the Landesmuseum Württemberg starting October 2014. 

Exhibition Design: Scenography Valentine Koppenhöfer

Ein Traum von Rom  

15.03. - 28.09.2014

Ein Traum von Rom - Römisches Stadtleben in Südwestdeutschland

 

 

Mit der Expansion des römischen Imperiums gelangte die römisch-mediterrane Lebensweise auch in entfernte Provinzen. Rom war dabei stets das Vorbild für alle neu gegründeten Städte und stand für gehobenes Wohnen, florierende Wirtschaft, privaten Luxus und städtebaulichen Glanz.  

 

Erstmals widmet sich eine Ausstellung der römischen Stadtkultur im Nordosten Galliens und im rechtsrheinischen Obergermanien. In Wirtschaft und Verwaltung, im Privatleben und bei öffentlichen Bauvorhaben - alle römischen Städte von groß bis klein verband das Vorbild Rom. Allem voran steht in der Ausstellung die römische Metropole Trier, die anderen Städten vergleichend gegenübergestellt wird. „Ein Traum von Rom“ gewährt aber auch Einblicke in städtische Privathäuser mit Wandmalereien, Skulpturen und Mosaiken. Eine einmalige innovative 240°-Filmanimation zeigt eindrucksvoll die römischen Stadtlandschaft im heutigen Südwesten Deutschlands und die Entwicklung des antiken Trier. 

 

Der Besuch der Sonderausstellung ist im Museumseintritt enthalten, ebenso ein Audioguide durch die Ausstellung. Gültig für den Besuch ist auch die AntikenCard Trier

 

Der Vorbildcharakter Roms für Städtebau und Organisation nördlich der Alpen ist auch außerhalb des Landesmuseums spürbar. Die unübersehbaren Römerbauten wie die Porta Nigra und die Kaiserthermen halten das antike Erbe in der Stadtarchitektur lebendig. Sie ermöglichen es, den Besuch der Sonderausstellung mit einem authentischen Eindruck römischer Baukultur zu ergänzen. Informationen zu den Monumenten erhalten Sie unter Trier- Zentrum der Antike

 

Die Ausstellung steht unter der Schirmherrschaft von Malu Dreyer, Ministerpräsidentin des Landes Rheinland-Pfalz, und Winfried Kretschmann, Ministerpräsident des Landes Baden-Württemberg. 

 

 

 

 

Die Sonderausstellung ein Projekt der Generaldirektion Kulturelles Erbe Rheinland-Pfalz, Direktion Rheinisches Landesmuseum Trier und des Landesmuseums Württemberg und wird ab Oktober 2014 auch im Landesmuseum Stuttgart gezeigt.  

Ausstellungsgestaltung: Szenografie Valentine Koppenhöfer.