Die Dauerausstellung

 

200,000 Years of History 

 

The permanent exhibition offers a circular walking tour through the entire history of Trier and the Trier region – from the Stone Age to the Roman city, from the Franks to the last Trier Electoral Prince. Whoever has been astounded by the Roman structures in Trier can find the archaeological treasures of the ancient city. 

 

Among the exhibits are the oldest man-made stone tools of the region, archaeological testimony to the first villages and settlements, hoard finds with jewellery and weapons as well as extravagant Celtic graves. 

 

The major portion of the museum is devoted to the Roman era. From the evidence permitting Trier to call itself Germany’s oldest city to the famous burial monuments from Neumagen, among which are the Roman wine ship or the “school bas-relief”, to the magnificent mosaics, the largest collection north of the Alps: All bear witness here to the splendour of the ancient city which achieved world fame long ago as an imperial residence. The permanent collection attained significant status with the coin collection with its “Trier Gold Hoard”, discovered in 1993, the largest preserved Roman gold hoard worldwide. 

 

Recounting life from the time after the Romans are impressive burial goods from the Frankish period, imposing Romanesque and Gothic building sculptures along with the last preserved stained glass windows from Trier Cathedral. The tour ends with a look at the splendour of the last Trier Electors.  

 

A free audio guide is included in the admission price, available in German, English, French and Dutch, with a German version for children. The captivatingly unique multi-media show “In the Realm of Shadows” is performed twice daily within the exhibits themselves. 

 

Our award-winning permanent exhibition  

„red dot: best oft the best“ – Award 2011

 

“red dot: best of the best” Award 2011 

The permanent exhibition of the Trier Landesmuseum was awarded one of the most prestigious international prizes for design, the “red dot: best of the best”, in the autumn of 2011. The exhibition received the prize in the category “communication design” for an especially bold, innovative, modern design. 

fundstück [ INV G I O 104 ] Schwarzenbach:Etruskische Bronzeschnabelkanne.Um 400 v. Chr.

Die Dauerausstellung

 

200.000 Jahre Geschichte 

 

Die Dauerausstellung bietet einen geschlossenen Rundgang durch die gesamte Geschichte Triers und der Trierer Region – von der Steinzeit zur Römerstadt, von den Franken bis zum letzten Trierer Kurfürsten. Wer die römischen Bauten in Trier bestaunt hat, findet hier die archäologischen Schätze der antiken Stadt. 

 

Zu den Exponaten zählen die ältesten von Menschen hergestellten Steinwerkzeuge der Region, die archäologischen Zeugnisse erster Dörfer und Siedlungen, Hortfunde mit Schmuck und Waffen sowie keltischer Prunkgräber.  

 

Der größte Teil des Museums gilt jedoch der Römerzeit. Von dem Beweis, dass sich Trier die älteste Stadt Deutschlands nennen darf über die berühmten Grabdenkmäler aus Neumagen, unter denen sich das römische Weinschiff oder das „Schulrelief“ befinden, hin zu den prachtvollen Mosaiken, deren Sammlung die größte nördlich der Alpen darstellt: Alles zeugt hier vom Glanz der antiken Stadt, die einst als Kaiserresidenz zu Weltruhm gelangte. Einen besonderen Rang erhält die Dauerausstellung durch das Münzkabinett mit seinem 1993 gefundenen „Trierer Goldschatz“, dem größten erhaltenen römischen Goldschatz der Welt.  

 

Von der Zeit nach den Römern erzählen eindrucksvolle Grabfunde aus fränkischer Zeit, prächtige Bauskulpturen aus der Romanik und Gotik und die letzten erhaltenen Glasmalereien aus dem Trierer Dom. Mit einem Ausblick auf die Pracht der letzten Trierer Kurfürsten endet der Rundgang.  

 

Ein Audioguide ist in den Sprachen Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch und Niederländisch sowie in einer deutschen Version für Kinder im Eintritt enthalten. Täglich zweimal entführt die einzigartige Multimedia-Show mitten im Museum in das „Reich der Schatten“.  

 

 

Ausstellung ist preisgekrönt  

„red dot: best oft the best“ – Award 2011

Die ständige Ausstellung des Rheinischen Landesmuseums Trier wurde im Herbst 2011 mit einem der wichtigsten internationalen Preise für Design, dem „red dot: best of the best“ ausgezeichnet. Die Ausstellung erhielt den Preis in der Kategorie „communication design“ für eine besonders innovative, moderne und mutige Gestaltung.  

 

fundstück [ INV G I O 104 ] Schwarzenbach:Etruskische Bronzeschnabelkanne.Um 400 v. Chr.